Egg Bites

 

The weekend is over and it’s back to watching what I eat. I thoroughly enjoy eating all of these healthy things and learning more about what I am really eating. It’s not something I dread. Breakfast however has been a real struggle. I am not a huge breakfast eater; I usually just drink a gallon of coffee. However I usually like a little something around 9:30 or 10:00 to tie me over until lunch. Gluten free and non-sugary breakfast items are hard to find. Most breakfast bars, granola bars, fruit bars you name it are chuck full of preservatives and sugar. I found this recipe for egg bites on … you guessed it … Pinterest. I made them last night and ate them this morning and they were super yummy! Try them and let me know what you think!

Egg Bites

Prep time: 5 minutes

Cook time: 25 minutes

Makes 12 muffin bites

Ingredients:

  • 6 eggs
  • ¼ cup of milk
  • ¼ teaspoon of salt
  • 2 cups of grated cheddar cheese
  • ¾ cup of cooked and drained spinach (I used kale instead!)
  • 6 bacon slices, cooked and chopped (optional)
  • ½ cup of parmesan cheese (optional)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Use a regular 12 cup muffin tin. Spray the tin with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. In a large bowl, beat eggs until smooth. Add in milk, salt, cheddar cheese and mix. Stir in spinach and cooked bacon and mix.
  3. Ladle the egg mixture into the greased muffin tin about ¾ full.
  4. Top each muffin cup with parmesan (optional).
  5. Bake for 25 minutes. Remove from oven and let them cool before taking them out of the pan.
  6. Once they have cooled, eat them or place them in the fridge and reheat later on!

IMG_0508

Leave a Reply

