Pizza. Zucchini. Boats

I have been hearing about replacing pizza crust with cauliflower and substituting pasta noodles with zucchini everywhere lately. I thought, well I love pizza and I love pasta. If it’s not broke don’t fix it! But then after some research and realization….eh maybe it’s broken just a little. So I decided to give the zoodles (zucchini noodles) a try. Much to my surprise they were pretty good! A few weeks later my aunt gave me a GIANT zucchini  from her garden and I thought I would give the zucchini boats a try next. I am not going to lie I was a little leery and I had Papa John’s on speed dial for my husband, just in case.

I decided I would try a pizza styled zucchini boat first. I mean if it has pizza in the title surely it’s good. This recipe did not disappoint! Danny and I both really liked these and Papa John’s lost out on our business for the evening. I still have yet to try the cauliflower pizza crust. If you have a good recipe please share! This zucchini boat recipe is from the slender kitchen.

Pizza Zucchini Boats

Serves: 2

Cook time: 25 minutes

Ingredients:

  • ½ tsp of olive oil
  • ½ lb. of ground beef or ground turkey
  • ½ cup of mushrooms, diced (optional)
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • ¼ tsp. of oregano
  • ¼ tsp. of basil
  • ½ cup of marinara sauce
  • 2 tbsp. of parmesan cheese
  • ¼ cup of shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 2 zucchini

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add in meat, mushrooms and garlic. Cook until the meat is fully browned. Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Stir in the oregano, basil, and marinara sauce.
  4. Meanwhile cut the zucchini in half and scoop out some of the center. I just used a big spoon. Place the zucchini on a sprayed baking dish or sheet.
  5. Fill the boats with the meat mixture.
  6. Top each with 1 tbsp. of shredded cheese and ½ tbsp. of parmesan cheese.
  7. Bake for 15-18 minutes until cheese is bubbling and the zucchini is tender.

IMG_0377

Leave a Reply

