Salsa Sarah

I mentioned to you all back in the spring that I was going to plant my first garden. To be honest, I was extremely nervous! I am a slight perfectionist and what if I killed everything?! Despite my fears, I went ahead and planted one. I started off very small. I planted lettuce, jalapenos, bell peppers, tomatoes, basil and oregano.

IMG_0031untitled

Let me be the first to tell you if someone hasn’t already, gardening is SO MUCH FUN! It has been so rewarding to watch something grow and then be able to eat the produce that I grew and took care of! I am proud to say I didn’t kill anything and my biggest mistake was planting way too much lettuce. We ate it for weeks and shared a ton. We are currently harvesting the tomatoes, peppers and jalapenos. So what have I been making a ton of? SALSA! I really think we might be turning into tomatoes. Check out my recipe!

Sarah’s Salsa Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 4-6 large tomatoes, diced
  • 1 large red onion, diced
  • ½ a bunch of cilantro
  • 3 Jalapenos… you can put in however many you want but be careful!
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • ½ of a green bell pepper
  • ½ a teaspoon of chili powder
  • A pinch of slap ya mama (optional)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

There are several ways you can make this. If you have time and are patient you can dice up your ingredients and mix them together in a large bowl. This will make kind of a chunky salsa. If you want your salsa five minutes ago like I do, you cut up your ingredients so they will go in the blender or processor and then blend them away! This makes a very thin salsa and takes far less time. Either way it is delicious! Make sure you store it in the fridge when you are done eating.

IMG_0230

Leave a Reply

