The Cookie Monster

I am not a huge sweets fan. I will occasionally crave something sweet but I like salt more. With that being said there is something about “not” being able to have things that makes you want them even more. I have really been trying to commit myself to eating paleo/ gluten free during the week. I have no health issues thankfully this isn’t a forced thing. I just truly think this is one of the healthier ways to eat and even though I have no health issues, I am seeing a change in my body for the better! But back to the sweets…. this week I have been DYING to eat homemade chocolate chip cookies. Lucky for me Pinterest is my BFF and I found this awesome, gluten free recipe. These bad boys weren’t too bad! They didn’t puff up like regular cookies which made me a little sad but they cured the craving!

GF Chocolate Chip Cookies

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 10-11 minutes per batch

Ingredients:

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 2 ¼ cups of Gluten-free flour blend (I use Pillsbury)
  • 1 tsp. of baking soda
  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • ½ cup of sugar
  • 1 ½ tsp. of vanilla extract
  • ½ tsp. of xanthan gum (if your flour mixture has this in it you can skip this!)
  • ¾ cups of butter
  • 2 oz. of cream cheese

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. In a bowl whisk together flour, xanthan gum, baking soda and salt. Set it aside.
  3. In another bowl, place the cream cheese, and then pour melted butter over the top. Add brown sugar and sugar and mix them on medium speed for 2 minutes.
  4. Add vanilla extract and egg yolks one at a time. Mix on low until everything is well mixed.
  5. Add in your flour mixture from earlier. Mix until it’s combined.
  6. Add in the chocolate chips and mix.
  7. Line your cookie sheets with parchment paper. Do not spray!
  8. Scoop cookie dough onto sheet and bake them for 10-11 minutes. They are done when they have a golden edge.
  9. Leave the cookies on the sheet for a minute or two before moving them to a cooling rack… or your mouth… whatever floats your boat!

GF choc chip cookies

2 Comments Add yours

  1. They look full of chocolate chips – yum!
    Tania @ http://www.thegammonkitchen.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. gutirrezlife says:

      Of course!! 🍪

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

