I Want to ‘Taco Bout It’

I love love love love love Mexican food. It however tends to not be so fond of me. Since starting my clean eating journey I have been searching for recipes that are still the foods I used to always eat but the healthy and clean version. My goal is to “eat clean” throughout the week and then be able to have a little fun on the weekends. I feel like this is a very obtainable goal and so far so good.

The older I get the more I am concerned with what I am putting into my body. I want to live this life to the fullest, however long that may be, and I want to have a healthy body. Obviously I know that some things are unavoidable and I won’t live forever but if I can help but not cramming my body full of processed foods and soda then I feel like it’s the least I can do.

I am so thrilled with how this salsa and the tortillas turned out! I will for sure be making these again and again! I found both of these recipes on Pinterest. #thankspinterest I hope you enjoy them as much as we did!!

torts

Tortillas

Makes 10-16 tortillas

Prep time: 25 minutes

Cook time: 2 minutes each

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of gluten free flour (or all-purpose flour if gluten free doesn’t apply to you :))
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/3 cup of vegetable oil
  • 1 cup of warm water

Directions:

  1. Mix the flour, salt and baking powder in a large bowl.
  2. Add the oil and water and mix well until the dough starts to come away from the sides of the bowl and form into a ball.
  3. Place the dough on a lightly floured surface and knead for 3-5 minutes or until it is smooth.
  4. Shape the dough into a square and cut 10-16 pieces of dough out, roughly the same size.
  5. Roll each piece into a roll and flatten out with your hands.
  6. Cover the dough with a tea towel and allow them to sit for 15 minutes.
  7. Heat a large frying pan over medium-high heat.
  8. Working on one at a time, roll out each dough piece on a lightly floured surface. Try to get them nice and thin.
  9. Place the dough circle into the frying pan and cook for one minute on each side. Watch to make sure they don’t burn.
  10. Repeat until all of your dough is cooked!

taco

 

Salsa

Prep time: 15 minutes (depending on how fast you can chop :))

Makes one medium sized bowl

  • ½ bunch of cilantro
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 2 jalapeños (optional)
  • 1 small red onion
  • 4 tomatoes
  • ½ tsp. of chili powder
  • 1 tsp. of salt and pepper

Directions:

Chop everything and add in your spices and enjoy! SO easy!

fiesta

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. urbantutu says:

    Looks yum 😃http://www.urbantutu.com

    Like

Leave a comment