Samson is TWO!

 

Yes, I am one of those crazy dog ladies who celebrates their dog’s birthday. Now that we have that statement out of the way, happy birthday to my Samson dog! Growing up we had a dog and a cat that I loved but I would not call myself “an animal person.” Animals should be outside, that way the dirt and slobber stays outside too! My sweet little Samson however, changed all of that.

q

Danny was getting ready to graduate with his bachelors and I was so stumped on what to get him for a gift. I wanted it to be something he would use and enjoy but I also wanted it to be somewhat sentimental. Right about graduation time a co-worker’s dog had puppies and not just any puppies, BOXER puppies! Danny and I had been talking months prior and he had said that he would really like to have a dog. I was a little leery but we talked in great length about what kind of dog we would want to have and what being a pet owner would look like. A good friend of ours had a boxer named Maggie who was a saint of a dog. Everyone loved her and she was the sweetest dog. We decided that a boxer would be the perfect dog for us too! It was too perfect to pass up, so a decided to bite the bullet and surprised Danny at graduation with a dog collar and leash.

3

The rest is history and we continue to fall in love with our slobbery beast every single day. He is so sweet and is always so happy to see… well anything that moves. He can always put a smile on my face! For his birthday I decided to make him a dog cake and he devoured it in about three minutes, so I guess that means it was good! I found this recipe on Pinterest and thought I would share it with all the other dog moms (or dads) out there. I hope your furry friend enjoys!

2

Also enjoy some pictures of my sweet pup! 🙂

Dog Birthday Cake

Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup of peanut butter
  • 1 egg
  • ¼ cup of honey
  • ¼ cup of applesauce
  • 1 cup of flour
  • ½ cup of oatmeal
  • 1 tsp. of baking soda

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350 degree. Spray a pan (you can make cupcakes or one big cake). Mix all the ingredients together and then pour into your pan. Cook your cake for 15-20 minutes. Let it cool and then top with peanut butter.

Leave a Reply

