when a foodie tries to detox…

I love food. This is no secret. I thoroughly, thoroughly enjoy everything that goes into making a meal. I love to plan the meals for my family. Every Wednesday I get the local ads and see what is going to be on sale the next week and I make my grocery list based off that and what our next week looks like. I love to hunt for recipes and try to push my cooking abilities as far as I can. Danny has started to try new things so that has helped a lot too (he is an extremely picky eater). Then I love grocery shopping, yes I am sane. I like to try to get the best deals I can and I always make a game with myself to see how little money I can spend while at the store. I love making the meal. I put on my cute little apron and go to town. I would gladly spend hours in the kitchen cooking and meal prepping. Finally, I like to eat it. Where this isn’t my favorite part, it is nice to be able to fill my belly with the deliciousness I created.

I had family in town last week from New York City so I was out at my parent’s house every night last week. I was bummed not to be in the kitchen but it was really nice to eat all of my mom’s wonderful meals that I grew up on. With that being said, my mom went all out, pizzas, enchiladas, cook outs, burgers, hot dogs, chicken and veggies, breakfast casseroles, and much more. I ate…and ate… and ate some more and even when I wasn’t really hungry there was food in front of my face so I ate!… I looked like Michelle.

hangry

Saturday after the family had left I felt heavy, my skin felt gross and I knew I just needed to plan accordingly for this week. Before I say anymore, I am not a girl who struggles with body image on a daily basis. Sure I would like to shave off a few pounds for this summer, who wouldn’t?! This week I am doing a detox. This detox in my mind is to help with those few pounds and to get back on track with a clean eating trend. It is not a “lose a bunch of weight in an unhealthy way” thing. I have tried detoxes before but never stuck to them. Like literally would make it until dinner then I ate everything I could get my hands on. This week I am determined to complete a 5 day, healthy eating cleanse without getting too hangry. I will be blogging about the process as I go. I am following a plan I found on good ‘ol Pinterest. Let’s see how well this works! I’d love to hear any tips or tidbits you might have for me!

Monday:

Day one and it is fruit day. I can eat as much fruit as I wanted but cannot eat bananas.

 

Here is what went down:

8:30- an orange

9:30- a serving of cantaloupe

10:30- a serving of strawberries and blackberries

12:00- a grapefruit

1:00- a serving of cantaloupe

2:00- a serving of strawberries and blackberries

(I started to get a little hangry here… why is 2-3 the WORST snacky time?!)

3:30- an orange

4:30- a serving of strawberries and blackberries

9:00- a serving of strawberries and blackberries

I drank tons of water and spent a lot of time in the restroom but hey so far so good!! No melt downs yet!

 

 

 

 

Tuesday:

Weight loss: 1 pound down

Today is veggie day! Like yesterday I can eat as many vegetable as I want! It is a good thing I really like fruits and veggies.

 

Here is what happened today:

9:15- carrots and broccoli (I LOVE them but at 9 am was a little rough)

10:15- cucumbers

11:00- sweet peppers

12:00- baked potato with butter (yes this was allowed but just today)

1:00- broccoli

2:00- carrots

3:00-peppers… I think I am floating…

4:00- cucumbers

5:00- peppers

Today was awful. I just don’t think I bought enough veggies. 8:00 hit and I was dying. I came home from dress shopping and saw 2 pieces of pizza sitting on the kitchen counter that my lovely husband so nicely left out and I inhaled them. Do I feel bad about it? Yes but I think I am going to have to alter this just a tad to get some protein or I am not going to make it to Friday!

sad sarah

 

 

 

 

Wednesday:

Weight loss: None (stupid pizza)

Here is what happened today:

It’s a new day! I am going to try again!  It’s fruit and veggie day! I am going to toss in some almonds as well!

9:00- strawberries and blackberries

10:30- cantaloupe and almonds

11:00- orange

12:00- blueberry, strawberry and banana smoothie

1:30- cantaloupe

4:00- broccoli and carrots

Dinner plans include an avocado and a smoothie!

This day has been a lot better and I mean a lot better. I am not hangry…maybe I am just over the hump. I also think the cheat of the almonds has helped a lot too. I mean they are still healthy right?! Tonight I have plans to go to a local botanical garden. So hopefully being out and about will keep my mind occupied and I won’t “think” I am hungry.

I am half way done and have intentions of finishing up strong!! Check back in to see the final results!

detox

Leave a Reply

