Banana Bread and Breathing

Breathing is such a crazy concept if you stop to think about it. Without it we wouldn’t be alive but I am sure most of us go about day-to-day not even thinking about breathing. As I am sitting here typing this I am making myself think about it and now I feel like my pattern is all messed up and I am running out of air!

Last week I had to remind myself to breathe a lot. Not in the literal aspect of hey you should probably take a breath now but more so to be still, be calm, don’t sweat the small stuff and take deep, relaxing breaths. Life has a way of taking us on a crazy roller coaster ride. My thought has always been to be along for the ride but buckle up. What I mean by that is live life to the fullest. Enjoy the journey, enjoy the ups and downs because with every turn the track makes life is happening and changing. By buckle up I mean use the brain that the good Lord gave you. Don’t just ho-hum through life, wondering where you will be tomorrow and being unsatisfied. Be responsible and smart. There is beauty in the unknown but there is also beauty in a solid plan. Enjoy the ride because before you know it the ride comes to an end. I want to look back and make sure I had my hands in the air and a smile on my face the entire ride.

I know that’s on the heavy side but this is what I was thinking about while making banana bread. Don’t all great cooks do this!? 🙂 I grew up on this banana bread recipe by Amy Grant. I hope you enjoy the bread and the ride!

Banana Nut Bread

Serves… well two people in my house scarfed this down…

1 loaf

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 1 ½ hours max

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of sugar
  • ½ cup of softened butter
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 bananas sliced
  • 2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • ½ cups of chopped pecans
  • 1 tsp. of baking soda
  • ¼ tsp. of salt

Directions:

  1. Grease a 8 ½ by 4 ½ loaf pan.
  2. Cream sugar with the butter. Mix in eggs, bananas, flour, pecans, baking soda, and salt.
  3. Pour into prepared pan.
  4. Place loaf pan into a COLD oven.
  5. Set oven to 300 degrees and bake for 1 ½ hours or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  6. Cool bread in pan for 5 minutes then move to wire rack.

banana bread

Well of course I had to try just a little… I mean I had to make sure it was really done!

Leave a Reply

