heavenly bread

There is something so peaceful and comforting about homemade bread. I love the warmness, the freshness, the crunch and knowing that I made it myself. I have been rocking the refrigerator rolls recently and that has boosted my confidence in my bread making skills and yesterday I tried homemade French bread for the first time. It did not disappoint! I am almost to the point where I don’t want any store bought bread anymore. With that being said, I still am searching for the right sandwich bread recipe, so hook me up if you have one!

I am going to be short and sweet today as I am writing with a sad heart, yesterday a friend of mine, who unfortunately I haven’t talked to in years, passed away. Even though we haven’t spoken in a while hearing of his passing has really rocked my world. It is a cold reminder that life is precious, so short and sometimes incredibly unfair. I’m taking a moment to be extra thankful for the life I have today. Life is a treasurable gift and for some of us it is shorter than others and no one knows what tomorrow holds. I encourage you to be thankful, live every day to the fullest and never miss an opportunity to tell someone how you really feel about them, hold your loved ones extra close and please, please, please enjoy this good life!

French Bread

Servings: 2-3

Prep time: 2.5-3 hours

Cook time: 25 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of warm water
  • 2 tablespoons of sugar
  • 2 ½ teaspoons of yeast
  • 2 tablespoons of oil
  • 1 ½ teaspoon of salt
  • 2 cups of flour

Directions:

  1. In a mixing bowl add sugar and water. Stir to dissolve sugar and sprinkle in yeast. Let it sit for 5 minutes.
  2. Add oil, salt and flour. Stir to combine.
  3. Sprinkle some flour down on your counter and take dough out of the bowl and make into a ball.
  4. Place ball of dough into a greased bowl, flipping it to cover both sides.
  5. Cover and let it rise for an hour.
  6. Punch down the dough and let it rise again for 30 more minutes.
  7. Pull the dough out and flatten it into a rectangle.
  8. “Jelly” roll it up and tuck the ends under.
  9. Place the dough on a greased baking sheet, cover and you guessed it let it rise for 30-60 minutes.
  10. Pre heat oven to 375.
  11. Give the dough a few swipes with a serrated knife.
  12. Bake for 25 minutes.
  13. Brush with butter and enjoy!

I altered this recipe a tad but it is from scratchthiswithsandy.com

french bread

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

