A Lovely Day for Lunch

I love lunch. There is just something about the break in the middle of the day to eat that is so relaxing, or at least that is where I am at in life. I know plenty of people who get thirty minutes (if even) and have to quickly shove something down and get back at it. I also know plenty of people who don’t even eat lunch at all. Whatever floats your boat but for me it’s a joyful time to relax.

I’ve said this before but I hate eating out, especially lunch. To me eating out should be a date night or a celebration. I want to go out and take my time, enjoy my company and eat a meal that is not only filling but somewhat good for me. Even though I get a hour for lunch, I don’t have that kind of time to eat “that” kind of meal. So what then there is fast food? They call it fast food for a reason. It’s made fast, you get it fast, you eat it fast and then you feel gross fast. I just flat out hate it. Every now and then I will crave something gross and go get it (which I immediately regret) but 99% of the time I eat lunch at home.

I am lucky enough to work right down the street from my house so going home for lunch is an option for me. Even if it wasn’t I would still pack my lunch. Packing a lunch or eating at home does face challenges of its own still. Like….what do you eat? I don’t want to make a huge meal, I don’t want to take an extremely long time making it, I want something fresh and I don’t want a sandwich. Picky I know. I get tired of eating the same thing all the time so when I came across this recipe for Cranberry Tuna Salad on Apple Slices from thewholesomedish.com I thought hum. Doesn’t sound like something I would usually eat but maybe I should try something different. After all it met all of my criteria listed above and I liked almost all the ingredients. I am so glad I tried it! These were delicious and so filling (which surprised me).

Try these and let me know your thoughts!

Cranberry Tuna Salad on Apple Slices

Servings: 2

Prep time: Seriously like 3 minutes

Cook time: None!

I even made this ahead of time and only had to slice up my apples!

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of Tuna (drained)
  • 2 apples
  • 4 tbsp of dried cranberries (I might have thrown in a few extra)
  • 2 tbsp of mayonnaise or Greek yogurt (I used the yogurt)
  • ¼ tsp of salt
  • ¼ tsp of pepper
  • 1 tsp of Apple cider vinegar (I actually left this out because…well it didn’t sound the best to me)

Directions:

  1. Mix all of the ingredients, minus the apples, together.
  2. Cut up your apples into thin slices.
  3. Spoon your mixture onto the apple slices and that is it!

So easy and light for a nice spring lunch! I had a smoothie too thinking I would still be hungry and I wasn’t!

 

Leave a Reply

