Construction Collation

The flooring has been ordered and will arrive this next week!! Wahoo! I am so excited that after months of planning and searching for the perfect floor we have FINALLY found it (and it’s in stock this time, thank goodness). We are hoping to put it in as soon as we get it. However, there is a lot of prep work that must be done first! Last night we worked on moving all the furniture and busting out the tile. It was a lot of fun but not as easy as it looks! Danny and I luckily have fun doing just about anything so of course we were laughing and being silly the entire time.

Prior to the beginning of the madness, I of course made dinner. You can’t work on an empty stomach… or at least I can’t. I get “hangry”. On the menu last night was pan-fried pork chops, roasted asparagus and homemade rolls. I’m drooling over my memories of how delish all of this was! I declared it the best meal I’ve ever made. Today I am going to post the recipe for the pork chops and asparagus, both by Ree Drummond. I will share the rolls recipe with you later on this week!

Pan-Fried Pork Chops

Servings: 6

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon of seasoned salt ( I use Lawry’s)
  • 1 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • 12 thin bone-in pork chops or breakfast chops (I used the boneless)
  • 1 cup of vegetable oil
  • 4 tablespoons of butter

Directions:

  1. Combine flour, salt, pepper, seasoned salt, and garlic powder in a shallow pan.
  2. Whisk it all together.
  3. Sprinkle both sides of the chops with salt and pepper.
  4. Then lay them one by one in the flour mixture. Turn them over to dredge them.
  5. Keep going until your chops are nice and covered.
  6. Heat the oil and butter in a large skillet over medium heat, then fry the chops in batches until they are golden brown on both sides and cooked through. Cook them about two minutes on each side. My chops were a little thicker so I ended up having to cook them about four minutes on each side. Just make sure they are done!
  7. Remove them to a plate lined with a paper towel to remove the grease.

Roasted Asparagus

Servings: 6

Prep time: 2 minutes

Cook time: 5-7 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 bunches of asparagus, rinsed
  • ½ cup of olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 475.
  2. Slice the woody bottom 1 ½ to 2 inches off the asparagus.
  3. Arrange the asparagus on a large rimmed baking sheet, drizzle on the olive oil, toss them in the oil and sprinkle on plenty of salt and pepper.
  4. Roast for 5-7 minutes, or until they are slightly tender and just starting to brown. (Don’t let them go too long or they’ll start to turn yellow).After I pulled mine out of the oven I added ½ cup of parmesan cheese and tossed them in it!

Yum, yum, YUM!

pork chop

Everything was SO good! I can’t wait to make this again!

clean up crew

Because you need a ridiculous outfit if you’re going to rip up tile.

tile

No turning back now! Samson agrees.

 

Leave a Reply

