Chicken Nuggets = Life

You know how I have mentioned before how I eat like a two-year old? Well it’s true. If there is ever an option for “adult food” or chicken nuggets I am going to go for chicken nuggets. I just love them, I can’t help it! For years I have bought frozen nuggets and kept them in my freezer for nights I didn’t want to cook or for night that I straight up wanted chicken nuggets! The frozen ones however aren’t exactly the healthiest things around. I have been looking forever for a decent recipe that wasn’t to fru fru like. I could NEVER find one. Most of them included crazy things I didn’t have on hand like pickle juice. So once I became obsessed with Ree Drummond’s recipes of course the first thing I looked for was a chicken nugget recipe and per usual she did not disappoint! We had these for dinner last night with the “slice baked” potatoes and a salad. We also had more of that amazing pie I posted to Instagram earlier this week. Did you see it?!

Chicken Nuggets

Servings: 4

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 whole Chicken Breasts (cut Into small pieces or strips)
  • 1 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon seasoned salt (Lawry’s is our jam)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 2 tablespoons of water
  • 2 cups seasoned breadcrumbs
  • Vegetable oil (for frying)
  • Ketchup and mustard (for serving or any other sauce you’d like!)

Directions:

  1. You have to make an assembly line essentially for your breading. In one bowl combine you flour, seasoned salt and salt and pepper. Mix it together with a fork.
  2. In the next bowl mix your eggs with two tablespoons of water and mix.
  3. In the third bowl have your bread crumbs!
  4. Get messy!
  5. Bread a few pieces of chicken at a time by dredging them with flour, then quickly dunking them in the egg mixture, then rolling them in the breadcrumbs until they’re coated.
  6. Shake off the excess and place them on a plate or pan as you bread the rest.
  7. In a large skillet put at least an inch or so of oil in and heat on medium-high heat.
  8. Once your oil is hot, put 8 or so pieces of chicken in. Let them cook for a minute on one side and flip over and do a minute on the other side. (*Note: Cook longer if you want a crunchy, more golden nugget. I did mine for about a minute and thirty seconds on each side.)
  9. Carefully take them out of the oil and sit them on a plate that’s covered in a paper towel.
  10. Let them cool and enjoy!

Again the side possibilities are endless! Make whatever you’d like!

chicken nugs

Here is that peanut butter pie I was talking about!

peanutbutter pie

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

