Pinehurst Projects

 

In July Danny and I bought our first house. This house is seriously 98% exactly what I wanted for our first home. We got SO lucky! We had a wonderful home buying experience and are thoroughly enjoying being homeowners. My favorite part so far has been fixing up that 2% that I wasn’t super crazy about. For example, the master bathroom had carpet in it when we bought it. Really? Who puts carpet in the bathroom!? We also painted the entire house ourselves, with some help of course, before we moved in. The walls in our house looked like a bag of skittles had exploded. Every room was a different color and the majority of the colors were pastels, greens, blues, purples and pinks. Um not my style. We went for a classic and simple ivory brown.

Our latest project is hardwood floors! I am SO SO SO excited! The floors were a wedding gift from my amazing grandparents (who we still can’t thank enough) and since then we have been trying to decide what type of floor we want. Well, ten years later we have finally decided, and by “we” I mean me poor Danny knew from he get go what he wanted. We have picked a beautiful darker oak color and I cannot wait for Danny and my dad to put it in! We are putting it in our formal dining room, living room and a hall way. It will be so nice once it is done!

We are planning on putting the floor in the first full week of March but there of course is prep work that needs to be done and the wood needs to be in our house for so long prior to acclimate. Last night we made our 900th trip to Lowe’s to get the ball rolling. I swear they are going to start knowing us by name! Since I knew we needed to get to Lowe’s in a timely manner, I had a crock pot meal ready to eat at 5:00! We had Italian Chicken and noodles. This recipe was one of my very first “pins” on Pinterest and it remains one of my favorite go-to meals. The sauce it makes is so creamy and warm. It was perfect for a night like last night! This recipe is from the blog; home is where the Holman’s are. Thanks Holmans!

Crock Pot Italian Chicken

Servings: 4

Prep time: 2 minutes

Cook time: 4 hours on low in the crock pot

10 minutes or so to make your noodles

Ingredients:

  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 1 package of zesty Italian dressing
  • 1 8oz. cream cheese (softened)
  • 2 cans of cream of chicken soup
  • Noodles of your choice!

Directions:

Combine all of the ingredients (except for the noodles) in your crock pot and cook on low for four hours. If you find that your sauce is too thick you can add a little milk to thin it out. Serve over cooked pasta and enjoy!

Here is our delicious meal and some pictures of our Pinehurst projects! I will be sure to show you the pretty floors when they are done!

 

 

pine1

pine2 pine5 pine6 pine7

 

Leave a Reply

