tomato soup for days

I go home for lunch every day. I hate eating out for lunch. The food is meh, it’s expensive and it’s so not good for you. If I eat fast food within a few hours I can feel my stomach start to freak out. Finding things to quickly eat on my lunch break however can be a task! I get tired of eating sandwiches all the time and when it’s cold out I want something hot.

Warm soup in your belly on a cold day, ahh! Growing up I loved, loved, loved potato soup. It is still my favorite but just recently have I started to like tomato soup with a grilled cheese of course! It makes the perfect hot lunch. I make a big batch of the soup, we eat it for dinner then I freeze the rest of it. Just recently I learned the coolest trick! I will put the leftover soup in muffin tins and let it freeze overnight. The next day I pop the frozen soup out of the tin and put them in individual freezer baggies. That way I can pull out one just for myself or several for an easy dinner. How cool and easy is that!?

This tomato soup is out of The Pioneer Woman Cooks Dinnertime and is so much fun to make and I am sure you will enjoy it for dinner or lunch, by yourself or with others!

Tomato Soup with Parmesan Croutons

Servings: 12

Prep time: 25 minutes

Cook time: 20 minutes

Soup Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon of butter
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove, grated
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 3 large carrots, finely diced
  • 2 tablespoons of tomato paste
  • 4 cups of vegetable or chicken broth
  • Three 28-ounce cans of whole tomatoes
  • ½ cup of heavy cream
  • 2 tablespoons chopped parsley
  • 2 tablespoons of chopped basil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Parmesan Croutons Ingredients:

  • ½ baguette, cut into ½ inch slices
  • ¼ cup of olive oil
  • ½ cup of grated parmesan cheese

Directions:

  1. In a huge pot, melt the butter in the olive oil over medium-high heat.
  2. Add garlic, onion and carrots.
  3. Stir the veggies around and let them cook for 5 minutes or so until they start to soften.
  4. Add the tomato paste and stir it into veggies, let it cook and release its flavor for a couple minutes.
  5. Add one cup of water along with the broth.
  6. Add the tomatoes. Stir the mixture around, bring it to a boil then reduce the heat to low, cover the pot, and let it simmer for 15-20 minutes.
  7. While the soup is simmering make the croutons! Place the baguette slices on a rimmed baking sheet and drizzle them with olive oil.
  8. In a large non-stick skillet place the parmesan cheese in little piles. (I thought this was nuts, but I promise it works just fine!)
  9. Lay a baguette on each parmesan pile; turn the heat up to medium.
  10. When the cheese is nice and melted and starting to bubble, carefully flip the croutons over and toast on the other side.
  11. By this time your soup should be almost done! Yay! You can serve it as is, but there will be big chunks of veggies in there. I didn’t like this so I let the soup cool and then transferred it in small batches to my blender. BE CAREFUL! Your soup is still HOT. Blend it until it is smooth.
  12. After your soup is blended and back in the pot or not add cream to soften the tomato flavor.
  13. Stir and let it cook a few minutes more.
  14. Finally, sprinkle your chopped parsley and basil on top and add some salt and pepper to taste.
  15. Add your croutons and enjoy!!

*Note: The soup will keep in the fridge for up to three days, so make it a head of time!

tomato soup

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on The Everyday Foodie and commented:
    Favorite foodie post of the day! A girl after my own heart here, home cooking is always best and a homemade lunch is a winner in my book. Sounds and looks perfect ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. gutirrezlife says:

      Yay! I agree, homemade meals are the best!

      Like

Leave a Reply

