Mama’s Chicken Enchiladas

I told you we eat a lot of Mexican food in our house. I promised you last week that I would share one of my mom’s famous enchilada recipes, well get excited because it is in this post!

I got married this past fall and for my bridal shower my bridesmaids made me a cookbook and everyone who was invited to the shower brought a recipe to share. It was no surprise to me to see my mom’s beef AND chicken enchiladas as an entry from my mom and my sister, Emily. We grew up on these enchiladas. For years the beef ones were my favorite and then Emily started requesting the chicken ones all the time claiming they were her most favorite things ever. My mom finally just started making a pan of both each time. I still love the beef ones. They just come together so well and have a great taste. But as the years go by I am afraid I am starting to agree with Emily, holy cow are these chicken enchiladas to die for. My poor sister is away at college probably drooling over this post as we speak. Sorry sister!

These enchiladas are a crowd pleaser and are easy to make in bulk. These also travel well if you are looking for a meal to take to someone.

Behold… THE chicken enchiladas….

Chicken Enchiladas

Servings: 4 or 5

Prep time: 5-10 minutes

Cook time: 25 minutes

Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup of butter
  • 1 lb. of chicken breast
  • 1 can of green chili rotel
  • 4 oz. of cream cheese
  • 1 package of large tortillas
  • ½ cup of half and half
  • 2 cups of Monterey Jack cheese

Directions:

  1. Cut up chicken (chunks or thin strips) and cook in the butter in a skillet.
  2. Add in rotel and cream cheese. Cook until the cream cheese is melted.
  3. Spoon the mixture down the center of each tortilla and place seam side down in a 13×9 pan.
  4. Drizzle the half and half over the top of the tortillas and top with Monterey Jack cheese.
  5. Bake at 350 for 25 minutes or until they are hot and bubbly.

 

We of course eat our enchiladas with chips and salsa and Uncle Ben’s Spanish ready rice.

Delicioso!

baking chicken enchiladas enchiladas

Leave a Reply

