Is it Christmas?

In June I started working at the Bank of Sullivan. I have worked at a couple different banks over the years and each one of them have had aspects about them that I have really liked and things I have not, which I feel is pretty fair statement for any job. One thing I love about the Bank of Sullivan is that they LOVE their employees. I have never worked at a bank that takes care of their employees like this company does. With that being said, for Thanksgiving this past year the bank gave all of its employees either a turkey or a ham. I know this is a semi-common gesture but I have never been the recipient of something like that from the company I was working for. Needless to say I was PUMPED… because hello I love food and free food is even better!

My parents and grandparents always host Thanksgiving and Christmas so the ham and turkey were already bought for these events. So I spent one whole afternoon one day cutting up my Bank of Sullivan ham and sectioning it off into freezer bags for individual meals for later on down the road. I had a ball. I was so excited because out of that one ham I had enough for TEN separate meals for my family. That’s TEN times I didn’t have to buy meat. Again, I was SO excited. I used every piece of the ham. I even tried making hambone soup…. buuuut that didn’t go over so well. We figured out we weren’t such fans but our dog liked it!

This week it was so nice to go to the deep freeze and pull out one of my ham packets! I cook my ham slices in the oven with a little bit of brown sugar on top and they come out delicious every time. That was the main chunk of our meal on Thursday night but let me tell you about our side, “slice-baked” potatoes. Get it? Instead of twice, it’s slice. Haha! This recipe comes from The Pioneer Woman Cooks Dinnertime; you know the cookbook that I am still obsessed with.

You won’t regret making these! They are the perfect side!

“Slice-Baked” Potatoes

Servings: 8

Prep time: 1 hour and 20 minutes

Cook time: 11 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 8 medium russet potatoes, cleaned
  • ½ cup of butter, softened
  • ¾ cup of sour cream
  • ¼ cup of milk
  • 6 thin slices of bacon, cooked and chopped
  • 1 teaspoon of seasoned salt
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • ¾ cup of grated Cheddar-Jack cheese

 

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Place potatoes on a baking sheet and bake them for 45 to 50 minutes, until the potatoes are tender and the skins are slightly crisp. Remove them from the oven and let them cool slightly.
  3. Cut off the very ends of the potatoes, then cut the potatoes crosswise into 4 or 5 equal slices (they should be little round slices).
  4. Place butter and sour cream in a bowl and set aside.
  5. Grab a round biscuit cutter or use your knife to cut out the center of each round of potato.
  6. As you go drop the centers into the bowl with butter and sour cream. Only the brown outside of the potato skin should be left on the tray.
  7. Keep going until you have cut them all out.
  8. Pour the milk into the bowl.
  9. Add bacon, seasoned salt, salt and pepper.
  10. Mix all together with electronic mixer on low until your mixture is smooth.
  11. Add ½ of the cheese and mix gently.
  12. Place the cut-out skins on two baking sheets lined with parchment paper. Use a scoop or spoon to fill each skin with the potato mixture.
  13. Then use a knife or spatula to smooth the tops.
  14. Top with extra cheese.
  15. Bake them for 8 minutes or until top cheese has melted. Then turn on the broiler and cook the slices for 2-3 minutes. Don’t let them burn!
  16. Remove them from the oven and let them sit on the baking sheet for 10 minutes then serve!

(Note: the filling will be soft)

 

 

Ta-da! SO SO SO yummy! But that was kind of a lot of work for dinner on a week night right? But guess what! These make well in advance! Make them ahead of time and freeze them on the baking sheets then move to large zipper bags. When you are ready to eat them preheat the oven to 375 and bake them for 20-25 minutes or until hot. I have had these fresh out of the oven and frozen and cooked and they taste the EXACT same.

We also had cheese biscuits to complete our meal. I will share the biscuit recipe another time!

 

hamtaters

potatoessss

 

Leave a Reply

