comfort food

I am afraid the head cold crud has hit my house this week. What is it about a little baby head cold that knocks you flat on your back!? I am usually pretty healthy but for some reason this winter it will not leave me alone. I find it amazing how your taste buds change when you’re sick. I’ve mentioned before that I am a coffee addict and I haven’t had a single cup this week, nothing, not even coffee, sounds good. That’s how you know I am really sick!

I want something hot. That’s what I keep telling my sweet husband who does his very best to take care of me. This Wednesday night we tried a new recipe from Food.com, chicken and noodles. A warm, easy, crockpot meal that I didn’t have to worry about is exactly what the doctor ordered! Write this one down for your sick day go to!

Crockpot Chicken and Noodles

Servings: 8

Prep time: 5 minutes

Cook time: 8 hours in the crockpot

Ingredients:

  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 cans of cream of chicken soup
  • 2 (14.5 ounces) cans of chicken broth
  • ½ cup of butter
  • 24 ounces of frozen egg noodles (these might be my most favorite things ever!)

Directions:

  1. Place everything but the noodles in your crockpot. Cook on low for 5-6 hours.
  2. Remove the chicken and shred.
  3. Return the chicken to the crockpot and add your egg noodles. Cook for 2 more hours.
  4. Feel free to add pepper for a little kick!

Eat, go take some medicine and go to bed!

Chicken and noodles

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kimberly says:

    This is one of our favs…so simple and yet filling and yes; a comfort food for sure!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

