Sunday Funday

 

I love Sundays. After church I usually go to the grocery store and stock up for the week and then I meal prep the rest of the day away and make a nice dinner to kick the week off right. This week’s grocery trip was minor in comparison. I really stocked up last week and we are going to be gone this upcoming weekend so I didn’t have too much to buy. I refuse to waste food. It’s one of my biggest pet peeves. So instead of buying something extra for Sunday dinner I went ahead and checked the cabinets and just used what we had. I would say it turned out pretty good.

My friend Jenny sent me this recipe from Yellow Bliss Road and it has quickly become one of our household favorites! Check it out!

 

Baked Chicken Breasts

Cook time: 20 minutes

Serves: 4

Husband Rating: “Get in my belly!”

 

Ingredients:

  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • ½ tsp of garlic powder
  • ½ tsp of onion powder
  • ½ tsp of black pepper
  • ½ tsp of chili powder
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 2 tbsp of olive oil

 

(This recipe made me get my spice cabinet stocked up! LIKE!)

 

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Pound your chicken breasts lightly so they are of an even thickness.
  3. Pour olive oil in a 13×9 baking dish.
  4. Lightly dredge the chicken through the oil to coat it and place them side by side in the dish.
  5. In a small bowl whisk together salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and chili powder.
  6. Sprinkle mixture over both sides of the chicken and rub it with your hands.
  7. Make sure there is no overlap in your chicken.
  8. Cook for 15-20 minutes.
  9. Cover with foil the last 5 minutes.

We had a couple of potatoes left over from a meal from last week and so we made baked potatoes, which I am going to throw out there that I have FINALLY found the best way to make a baked potato. Poke holes in your potato with a fork then cover it in olive oil. Wrap the potato in aluminum foil and pop it in the oven at 425 for 45 minutes. No it’s not the fastest way probably but my potatoes always come out SUPER soft and excellent! I think it’s worth the wait.

Now…stuff your face!

chicken

Leave a Reply

