What’s On Your Plate Wednesday

Wednesdays are “decent meal day” in the Gutirrez house. I babysit on Monday nights and then Danny has class until late on Tuesdays. Dinners those nights are what we call “yoyo nights” or you’re on your own. They usually consist of leftovers for me and frozen pizza for Danny. He refuses to eat leftovers but that’s a total other post in itself. 🙂

Wednesdays are typically the first day of the week that I can get in the kitchen and really work my magic, thus they are my favorite day of the week. I am still rocking my new The Pioneer Woman Cooks Dinnertime cookbook that I got for Christmas. If you haven’t bought it yet you are seriously missing out. It is chuck full of delicious, semi-easy, non-extravagant meals. I get frustrated on Pinterest at times because I feel like some meals that are posted are just trying to outdo the next guy and I find myself thinking, “who would even eat that?!” I wouldn’t call myself a picky eater but I would say I am a plain eater. So if you are looking for frou-frou foods this isn’t the blog for you.

This Wednesday night we had Bowtie Chicken Alfredo; this recipe is out of The Pioneer Woman Cooks Dinnertime by the lovely Ree Drummond. Try this recipe and I promise your days of buying canned alfredo sauce are over.

 

Husband rating: “Oh ya!”

Prep Time: 5 Minutes

Cook Time: 20 Minutes

Difficulty: Easy

Servings: 8

Ingredients:

  • 12 ounces of Bowtie Pasta, cooked
  • 1 Tablespoon of butter
  • 1 Tablespoon of olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoon of Italian seasoning
  • 2 whole boneless and skinless chicken breasts
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 cloves of minced garlic
  • ½ cups of chicken broth (may substitute dry white wine)
  • ½ cup of half-and-half
  • ¼ cup of heavy cream
  • 1 cup of parmesan shavings or grated parmesan
  • 2 tablespoons of fresh parsley, minced

Directions:

  1. Cook pasta according to directions on the package. Drain and set aside.
  1. Season chicken with Italian seasoning, salt and pepper to taste. Heat 1 tablespoon of butter and oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken breasts and cook until they are a deep golden brown on both sides and are done in the middle. I cut mine into strips before I cooked them but you can do yours after if you’d prefer. Set them aside.
  1. Now let’s make the sauce! Add the minced garlic. Stir the garlic around the pan to avoid burning and cook for 30 seconds. Pour in broth (or wine), then let it bubble up and reduce your heat for 1 ½ to 2 minutes. Add half-and-half, cream, extra salt and pepper. Make sure you whisk constantly until it is combined. Allow the liquid to heat up and thicken for a few minutes. Be patient, I know you’re hungry or if you’re like me “hangry.” If the sauce gets too thick, you may thin it with a little more broth.
  1. When the sauce is at your desired thickness, remove it from the heat. Add parmesan to the pan, and then throw the cooked pasta right on top of it. Toss it a bit. Add the chicken and continue tossing until it is all combined. Again, if it looks too thick splash a little more chicken broth in and return it to low heat.
  1. Top with minced parsley and extra parmesan and serve immediately!

 

Pair your pasta with a veggie or salad of your choice and of course garlic bread. You can’t have pasta without bread. It’s a written rule.

*Side note: If you are a left over girl like me, this reheats well!

Enjoy!

93969742-8ebc-450c-9cf0-deede19a25b3

2 Comments Add yours

  1. zrdrake says:

    This looks so good! Now that you’ve got this blog, I may not have to go buy the cookbook 😉

    Like

    1. gutirrezlife says:

      It was delish! I was surprised that a lot of her stuff is actually online! I’d still get the book though. There is something about having a hard copy that is just easy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

